Post

The Bluesky dev team pushed a change this week to reserve your bsky.social handle when swapping to a custom domain handle, but it isn't retroactive. Can confirm that if you manually made a "squatting" account and go through the flow that @emilyliu.me describes here, it'll re-associate correctly!

Emily Liu@emilyliu.me

your account won't be affected. but if you'd rather reserve the username w/ your main acc, a workaround: - delete the bsky.social account - update your real account to the bsky.social username now that it's freed up - update back to your domain - your bsky.social username will be reserved

Just to be explicit, I did this: - Changed my "squatting" account to a different handle. - Changed this account's handle to @ikeviny.bsky.social, then back to @kevinyap.ca (immediately). - Confirmed handle was reserved by attempting to swap the "squatting" account back to @ikeviny.bsky.social.

0 reposts2 likes