Post
Scenario: I set my username to paul.bsky.team, then I leave the company and they take away that subdomain Solution: I change my username back to pfrazee.com or pfrazee.bsky.social or something else. I don't lose my account or my followers
Scenario: I set my username to pfrazee.com but forget to renew the domain name, and I lose it Outcome: When it expires, the servers notice and will stay "Invalid handle" on my account Solution: I change my username to something else. I don't lose my account or followers
Why not redirect back to your new name if that happens? Similar to how github handles it. At least for the post level, assuming the post still exists. I feel like this is a pretty good incentive to not attach your account to an org, otherwise. Even good people leave good companies.
0 reposts0 likes