Post
📢 1.96 is rolling out now (3/6) If you change your bsky.social username to your own domain, your old username will now be reserved for you! Only your most recent `.bsky.social` username is reserved, and it does not expire. bsky.social/about/blog/4...
Please make this work retroactively for people who already switched. When I switched to my own domain someone else registered my bsky.social domain which I had not realised would happen. It’s really frustrating. If bsky.social handles are reserved, it should be for every account on Bluesky.
0 reposts10 likes
After verifying with my domain, I created a new account with bsky.social username as a backup. Is there a way to merge the two, now?
You can't merge them, but if you want to associate the "reserved" handle with your main account, you can rename your backup account to something else (or delete it), then do a quick swap to-and-from the bsky.social handle on your main account, and that'll mark your handle as reserved.
The Bluesky dev team pushed a change this week to reserve your bsky.social handle when swapping to a custom domain handle, but it isn't retroactive. Can confirm that if you manually made a "squatting" account and go through the flow that @emilyliu.me describes here, it'll re-associate correctly!